Contact:  Natasha Lettsome, Information Training Manager
Telephone:  494-4499
E-Mail:  [email protected]

Tuesday 26th June 2007 – The 2007 official emergency shelter list has been verified and approved by the Building Authority & Environmental Health Unit in accordance with the Virgin Islands Disaster Management Act, 2003.  The list includes 34 shelters, which are located throughout the Territory.  These emergency shelters are divided into 3 distinct categories:  Primary, Secondary and Tertiary.
Eight primary shelters have been identified throughout the Territory. They are the Methodist & Church Hall Road Town, Anglican Church Hall Road Town, Long Trench, West End, Brewer’s Bay, and East End Long Look Community Centers on Tortola, St. Ursula’s Catholic Community Center on Virgin Gorda, and Emile Dunlop Community Center on Anegada.

In the event of an emergency these buildings would be occupied first and should provide occupancy for the length of the recovery period.  These facilities are outfitted with running water, showers, kitchen facility, and generator powered electricity.  All other shelters classified as secondary and tertiary will be opened on a priority basis.

The Government makes significant investments on an annual basis to ensure that emergency shelters are retrofitted and maintained based on local and regional building  standards established for such critical facilities.

A complete emergency shelter list will be published in local newspapers as a part of the hurricane preparedness campaign launched by the DDM.  Copies are also available at DDM offices at McNamara or at

#3 Wailing Road MacNamara
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Ph. 284-494-4499 Fax: 284-494-2024
E-Mail: [email protected]